Friday’s for the Guys – Dying to Meet You

Every Friday I highlight books and authors that are ones boys might really enjoy. I’m not saying girls wouldn’t read these books, but they are clearly “guy” books.
This week I’m highlighting:
Dying to Meet You
by Kate Klise and Sarah M. Klise
This sounds like a super fun book! I love that it’s not written completely in prose form.  Sometimes boys (yes and girls) need a book that has changes in the text so that it doesn’t become to boring.  A book that uses things like tombstones to tell the story will have a better chance at holding a reader’s interest. 
I also like that it will be part of a series, so a reader can keep going if they enjoyed it.
 This book was in our book orders, and I’ll be making sure to highlight it when I hand them out!

From Goodreads
Ignatius B. Grumply moves into the Victorian mansion at 43 Old Cemetery Road hoping to find some peace and quiet so he can crack a wicked case of writer’s block. But 43 Old Cemetery Road is already occupied by eleven-year-old Seymour, his cat Shadow, and an irritable ghost named Olive. It’s hard to say who is more outraged. But a grumpy old ghost just might inspire this grumpy old man–and the abandoned kid? Well, let’s just say his last name’s Hope.

Sisters Kate and M. Sarah Klise, the creators of the award-winning Regarding the . . . series, offer up this debut volume in a clever new series told in letters, drawings, newspaper articles, a work-in-progress manuscript, and even an occasional tombstone engraving.

4 thoughts on “Friday’s for the Guys – Dying to Meet You

  1. I've got to find this one! I've really been trying to add more "tween" books to my knowledge-base, and this sounds like a great one. Thank you for sharing!

  2. I love your guy read post so much. They are always giving me ideas and good titles to suggest for booktalks. I'm always needing a little more assistance with books that guys will go ga-ga for and you give me great ideas!

Leave a Reply

